The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

Submission Impossible?

Posted by Matthew on March 2, 2007

Ok, bad pun there with the title, I know. But here’s the rub: one possible added dimension for The Daily has been suggested to me, and I kind of like it. That is, the idea of calling for submissions of poetry, and subsequently publishing the cream of said submission crop here for all to read & enjoy.

My first thought is that The Daily does not have a large enough readership to justify this kind of project, but that doesn’t make it any less interesting. Also, my qualifications are, I should point out, not otherworldly good. I graduated from a small liberal arts college with a degree in English, yes, but that’s about it. Never been published (except online, by my own tiny self), not really an expert critic or editor. Still, my interest in the project rises.

Any thoughts are welcome. I will think on it over the weekend.

Poem: 50-50, by Langston Hughes
Thoreau: March 2, 1859

Leave a Reply

 
