The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

Another Children’s Poet

Posted by Matthew on March 6, 2007

As you may have gathered from yesterday’s post, I am a huge fan of Shel Silverstein. I though it only fitting, then, that after mentioning him so casually, I would choose a poem of his for today’s Daily Poem. It’s not my favorite Silverstein poem, but it’s a good one; I had a hard time finding many poems of his online, which is unfortunate, indeed. Kids are more likely to find out about his poetry online than anywhere else, I’d guess, which suggests to me the necessity of making it more readily available electronically.

That said, I’m still considering opening up for poetry submissions, so if you’re interested, do let me know. The greater the response, the more likely I am to actually do it in the not-so-distant future.

Poem: Forgotten Language, by Shel Silverstein
Thoreau: March 6, 1841

Leave a Reply

 
