The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

May Flowers

Posted by Matthew on May 1, 2007

Just so we’re clear about this, the title of this post has nothing to do with anything.

That having been said, you may have noticed that my other two blogs have taken leave indefinitely, which will thus open up more thought-time for The Daily. Good news? Let’s hope.

I haven’t actually gotten around to today’s poem or Thoreau (whose prose, in case you haven’t noticed, is basically poetry), but I’ll get myself up to speed eventually (and I’ll update this post accordingly when I do, I promise). Honestly, I’m still working on what exactly “up to speed” will mean, long-term & post-LaToVP/the other blog, so you might have to bear with me.

Anyway, two things of note today: First, Very Like A Whale is beginning a project which will result in1,000 lines of blank verse. I won’t do that myself, at least not now (here is where you imagine me doing my best Dr. Evil, pinkie-to-lips & scheming), but I love it. Stay tuned; I’ll try to keep abreast of the progress, there, and maybe even talk about it here.

Second, uh… well, I don’t remember the other thing I had in mind to talk about. In any event, if you haven’t already, do stop by LitSpace, the Google Group I started for me and my ilk to discuss all things literary. I plan ot do my best to get things stirring over there, and If you want, you can even be one of my ilk!

Poem: R. H. Blyth’s translation of Bashō‘s famous frog/pond haiku.
Thoreau: May 1, 1841

One Response to “May Flowers”

  1. Nic Sebastian said

    Thanks for the mention, Matt. You mean you’re not going to do it too!?

Leave a Reply

 
