The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

Haiku, and the New Poet Laureate of the Blogosphere

Posted by Matthew on May 2, 2007

Over at LitSpace, the lit. of the month for May is haiku. Go read the initial post and get your haiku on. (HaikuHut.com is a great place to start digging up good things.)

Amy King has been elected the third Poet Laureate of the Blogosphere. I have to admit that I don’t care for sentences like this:

“this generation is not swayed by threats of hell, impositions on their beliefs, and demands that they behave according to a higher authority” (lifted from its context in her acceptance or inaugural post, or whatever you want to call it, here)

That attitude bothers me in several ways and makes me think I will disagree with her politically more often than not, but I’m all about the promotion of poetry, and her love for/promotion of poetry is a beautiful thing. Part of my point there is that if you’re a poet, I don’t really care what your political affiliation/ideas are, and I hope you don’t care what I think, either; I’m interested in how you relate to the craft. Amy King, from what I can gather having been introduced to her this morning, relates to poetry quite nicely, and poetry seems to have taken a shine to her as well. Go pay her a visit, hm?

By the by, I love this Poet Laureate of the Blogosophere thing. I hope more and more people vote each year. The promotion of poetry, people: that’s what I’m on about!

You will note, too, that the blogroll has undergone a bit of a reordering, and I hope to add more poetry links frequently. If you think a link is sorely missing, let me know, and if I agree, I’ll put it up, too.

Poem: another (specifically, “First winter rain”) by Bashō
Thoreau: May 2, 1859

Leave a Reply

 
