The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

Found & Found

Posted by Matthew on May 8, 2007

I’m very amused by the concept of found poetry today, as you may have guessed from today’s poem, a noticeable departure from the haiku that have populated that space thus far this month. Preview: tomorrow’s poem will also be of the found variety–I found (that particular play on words was unavoidable, I’m afraid) two today that were just too good to ignore.

I love found poetry because an awareness of the very idea forces one to be on the lookout for poems everywhere & at every time of day. And that, my friends, is how a poet exists. Now go out and find some poetry!

Poem:

Foreigner (found poem)

Marietta is very boring.
I can not find
anything to do on weekend.
however I can rent
lot of video types.
I spent whole night
to watch movie.
it’s not only
can practice your listening,
but also do I have fine.

OK
I hope you can write me soon.
miss you much.
good luck.
see you in future.

***
Thoreau: May 8, 1853

Leave a Reply

 
