The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

Men Say They Know Many Things

Posted by Matthew on May 29, 2008

by Henry David Thoreau

Men say they know many things;
But lo! they have taken wings —
The arts and sciences,
And a thousand appliances;
The wind that blows
Is all that any body knows.

(in context)

And why did I choose this poem today? Because I’m reading through Walden, that’s why.

As is my way, I am unsure as to the purpose of this blog, aside from the desire for it to be strictly poetry related. Whether that means poetry, poetics, articles/thoughts on poetry, who’s to say on any given day?

Men say they know many things

So many people have ideas about what makes a poem good or bad, ideas about what makes a poem a poem, even. I say this, to them all: you are both right and wrong at once. Poetry (of all levels of worth), like Truth, can be found in every conceivable place, coming from every conceivable source.

The wind that blows
Is all that any body knows

Poetry is a lot of things; qualification and categorization is useful, certainly, but not always helpful. I hope, for my own sake, to think too hard a little less and enjoy good poetry a little more.

Come back for more, Tuesdays & Thursdays.

One Response to “Men Say They Know Many Things”

  1. Lindsay said

    OK, OK, I see what’s going on here. I’ve been following your M’log blog, and you’ve since gone elsewhere. Why didn’t you tell me? How am I supposed to keep tabs on all the interesting information you disperse if I don’t know where to find it?!

    Keep not thy blogs a secret, Matthew Lafferty. This is a punishable offense.

Leave a Reply

 
