The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

Flarf v. Conceptual Poetry, or “Sorrow Abundant”

Posted by Matthew on June 17, 2008

Here’s the deal: I’m not really qualified to have this kind of blog, at least in the traditional, academic sense. Sure, I’ve got an English degree, but who doesn’t? My interest in poetry is largely based upon two things: I have read a little, and I have written a lot (at least it seems that way). I have not studied poetry extensively. I am not familiar with all of the jargon, nor am I able to reference, ad nauseam (a la Silliman).

None of that is to say, of course, that I would not like to suddenly find myself with significantly more time to read and study poetry & poetics, but that is unlikely, at least in the immediate future. At present, then, my concern for poetry, and the very existence of this blog, arise from the fact that one simply does not hear much about poetry, unless one chooses to hear (read: actively seek out) such things.

That makes me sad.

Something else that makes me sad: from my observation, I’m not sure people miss it.

I suppose the break between the public consciousness is too subtle a thing for me to dissect, but I am wont to believe it has something to do with schooling. That, too, makes me sad. School should help people love knowledge & learning, and it should help people love the arts, poetry included. I’ll wager educational experience, generally, is not currently achieving the goal of encouraging a love of poetry. (I can only hope my children will have a better experience, but my gut tells me I will be largely responsible for making sure they do not develop a distaste for poetry.)

Anyway, my point is this: I feel, within my poetic soul, a great conflict between the knowledge that poetry must change and grow and adapt over time, and my feeling that the path(s) poetry has taken have served only as roads away from the public. And, given where poetry is (still a burning question, I’d think, though I’ll take this “debate” between Flarf and conceptual poetry as a starting point), I am unsure as to how (if at all) the two (theat is, the continued evolution of poetry & the public consciousness) can be reconciled.

All that to say, the continuation of the “debate”: This is only going to get me into trouble, but…

Or, if you’re in a hurry, Autotypist (new to me) has the highlights.

No poem of the day, today; haven’t had the time to find one (but I’m open to suggestions).

Leave a Reply

 
