The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

It’s hard to keep a clean blog clean.

Posted by Matthew on June 24, 2008

My apologies for the title of this post. Today’s poem is It’s hard to keep a clean shirt clean, by June Jordan. I came across the poem in rather random fashion, just looking around for poetry, and I liked it. Period.

Here’s a tasty bit that closes the poem:

It’s clean.
A clean white shirt
nobody wanted to spoil
or soil
that shirt
much cleaner now but also
not the same
as the first before that shirt
got hit got hurt
not perfect
anymore
just beautiful

a clean white shirt

It’s hard to keep a clean shirt clean.

Something in there hit me hard, right in the soft, soulful part of my brain. I love the rhythm, I love the relatableness.

I had some things I wanted to say about poetry here, but I don’t have the time or energy just now. Soon, I hope. Soon.

Leave a Reply

 
