The Daily…ish

Poetry and Miscellany

  • Poem

    Men say they know many things;
    But lo! they have taken wings—
    The arts and sciences,
    And a thousand appliances;
    The wind that blows
    Is all that any body knows.

    ~ Henry David Thoreau

    (in context)

Poetry Slams

Posted by Matthew on July 24, 2008

It’s been nearly a month since my last post. What can I say? I got slammed by summer. Which, by the way, makes a nice segue into… Poetry Slams!

I’ll admit it: I don’t know much about poetry slams. I’ve never been to one, and even after thinking about it some today, I’m not sure I’d want to, or at least I’m not sure I’d want to compete in a slam.

That said, I discovered today that a coworker of mine is raising money for a trip to the National Poetry Slam, I believe as a member of the team from Buffalo. I honestly had no idea she wrote poetry, much less performed it, and so well. Check out her performances at The Nickel City Poetry Slam here (she’s Jennifer Elinge).

More percolation needed on my part, but I’m off for the weekend to rock out with some of my very best friends.

Thoughts on slam, anyone?

Leave a Reply

 
